November 5, 2021

Penn President Amy Gutmann participated in the Alumni Award of Merit Gala on Friday of Homecoming.  This event is a highlight of the year as we honor the truly outstanding achievements with awards for alumni, clubs, faculty, and creative spirit.  This year’s virtual format allowed us to extend the celebration to an audience across the nation and around the world.

Our honorees on this occasion comprise a wonderfully disparate group – different by profession, different in age, and far-flung in geography. But no matter what differences, they all share one essential attribute.  They are all stewards of Penn. Keepers of a tradition of curiosity, care, and concern for the social good that goes all the way back to the life and example of Ben Franklin.

Congratulations to Alumni Award of Merit recipients Judith Bollinger WG'81, Ghislain Gouraige C'80, Michael Kowalski W'74 (in absentia), Clemson Smith Muniz C'79, and John Vosmek C'61 who all receive the highest honor presented by Penn Alumni.  Congratulations also to the winner of the Young Alumni Award - Ashley Zampini Ritter NU'07 GNU'08 GR'18; the Creative Spirit Award - Stephen Goff AR’62; Faculty Award of Merit - Al Filreis; and Regional Club Awards - Penn Club of Los Angeles, Club Award of Merit; Penn Club of the UK, Pennovation Award; Penn Club of Cleveland, Sweeten House Award; and Penn Club of Shanghai, Civic House Award.

It is with tremendous gratitude that we recognize this amazing group who have each dedicated their time and talent to Penn in extraordinary ways.

Penn Today news story.

See also President Gutmann’s Flickr galleryFacebook page, and Instagram.